The Texas Rangers defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-0 on Wednesday in Phoenix, winning the World Series and becoming the champions for the first time in the franchise’s 63-season history. The Rangers appeared in two World Series previously, but lost to the San Francisco Giants and the St. Louis Cardinals in 2010 and 2011, respectively.

The game was scoreless through six innings with Diamondbacks starting pitcher Zac Gallen was dominating, before Rangers shortstop Corey Seager broke up the no-hitter in the seventh, and two batters later, Mitch Garver’s single scored Seager for the game’s first run. The Rangers then scored four more runs in the ninth inning, highlighted by a monster Marcus Semien 2-run home run off Paul Sewald deep to center field for the 5-0 lead.

Seager was named series MVP, becoming just the fourth player ever to win two World Series MVP awards. Seager said while accepting his award: “I’m just happy to be a part of this team. The resilience of this group, just the fight, the fight is what it is.” The Rangers’ Bruce Bochy became the sixth manager to win at least four World Series titles. Bochy, who had won three with the San Francisco Giants, came out of retirement to achieve the feat. Bochy said: “I was sitting on a recliner there in Nashville, just enjoying myself, when he called me. I’m so honored by these guys. They inspire me with how resilient they’ve been, but to get this call and be part of this, I know how blessed I am. I can’t thank these guys enough.”

Diamondbacks manager Torey Lovullo said after Wednesday’s game: “This is painful. This is just plain painful. And I can’t quite move past that right now. But I will. I told the guys to absorb it and process it the right way. Don’t compartmentalize it; don’t put it away. Think about how you feel when you get to that point, and we’ll get to that crossroads at some point and be able to say, ‘Wow, this was a great run.’”

Editorial credit: Joseph Hendrickson /

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>